Best research courses and programs for medical students (2026)
So everyone promises to make you "research-ready": mentorship programs, university courses, Harvard certificates, free courses. They do very different things. We scored every one, ours included, on the same 10 criteria, using the providers' own pages and independent records from PubMed, Europe PMC, Trustpilot and Retraction Watch, and every source is linked.
Key takeaways
- Highest score in this guide, Tau Square Academy (ours): 18/20 by the same 10 rules as everyone else. It's built for students who want to become independent fast: every student leads their own first-author paper, and an 8-week Accelerator cohort carries you to submission. We keep it out of the ranking below only because we run it.
- Of the programs we don't run: PIMG Research Academy scores highest (14/20), then Meta-Analysis Academy and Harvard PPCR (12 each). At PIMG and Meta-Analysis Academy, most students co-author rather than lead a paper.
- Where the papers go, independently checked: 97% of the 1,313 papers with a CIBNP affiliation are in one journal (Cureus), which closed CIBNP's channel in 2024; Meta-Analysis Academy's papers are spread across 17 journals. Links to every search are in the guide.
- Introductions to research range from free to $349; dedicated meta-analysis training costs more, roughly $499 to $2,000.
- For the US Match, choose work you'll be first or second author on and can defend at interview, not a certificate or a long list of middle authorships.
- Avoid programs that sell authorship or writing, and check that the journals past students published in are properly indexed.
Tau Square Academy: for students who want to become independent, fast (ours)
So our goal is simple. We built Tau Square for doctors and medical students who want five things:
- To become good at research, really fast
- To do genuinely good work, on a paper that's their own
- To learn from people who understand where they're starting from
- To end up as good as the people teaching them
- To go and build a network of their own
That's a different job from the programs below, so we don't rank Tau Square against them, and since we run it, ranking it ourselves would be marking our own homework anyway. Here's how we deliver each of those five things.
Becoming good, really fast: In about 100 hours of guided work, you go from a research question to a manuscript that's ready to submit. And if you want a deadline holding you to it, the Accelerator's 8-week cohort carries you all the way to submission.
Good work, on a paper that's yours: Every student leads their own paper, start to finish. There are no group papers, no pooled co-authorship and no CV padding, and our students have presented at multiple national conferences, including Digestive Disease Week (DDW) 2026 and ASBrS 2026.
People who understand where you're starting from: No mentor, not much time, no idea where to begin. We've been exactly there. One of us spent thousands of dollars in medical school on workshops and courses, kept learning, kept implementing, and still wasn't getting published. Tau Square is the course we wish we'd had back then, built by a best-in-class specialist team: educational psychologists who know how people actually learn hard ideas, doctors and research mentors who do this work themselves, and motion graphics designers who turn every idea into visuals you can follow.
As good as the people teaching you: We teach the method exactly the way we use it, with the same playbooks (our step-by-step guides for each stage), the same judgement calls and the reasoning behind every step, so you can run your next review without us.
A network of your own: You leave with your own first-author paper and a skill you can actually show. You don't walk into a supervisor's office as one of ten names on a cohort paper; you walk in already able to run a review. That's what opens doors with faculty, collaborators and programs, and the connections you make belong to you, not to a course.
To keep ourselves honest, we still scored Tau Square as a whole by the same 10 rules everyone else gets. It scores 18/20; the top program in the ranking below scores 14.
| Program | Own paper | Feedback | Method | Live | Price shown | Cost | Access | Authorship | Try first | Track record | Total /20 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tau Square Academy, as a whole (ours) | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 18 |
We drop one point on cost (plans start at $600, though the fundamentals are free) and one on track record: no indexed papers credit us yet, so that score stays neutral for now. Our first, in JACC: Heart Failure, is accepted but not yet published. Our flagship plan, Accelerator, scores the same 18 on its own.
Tau Square Academy: the 100-Hour Research Protocol (ours)
Best for students who want to become independent researchers quickly, lead their own paper, and then build their own network of mentors and collaborators.
Who runs it: Tau Square Academy is based in Secunderabad, India. It was founded by Ms. Niranjana Jayaraman (B.Com, B.Ed, M.A. Psychology), an educator of more than ten years who leads how we teach: learning science, fear of research, feedback, habits and mindset. She struggled with her own M.A. Psychology thesis, Dr. Jabez David John helped her make sense of it, and together they built Tau Square. Dr. Jabez designed the research curriculum, and his paper on a Bayesian decision framework for heart transplant surveillance, with Tau Square Academy as his affiliation, has been accepted in JACC: Heart Failure (2026).
Here's what you actually get inside the program:
- The method
- Lessons you can see, not just read
- A playbook for every section
- Real runs, failures included
- Your own paper, even in a cohort
- Mentor help when you're stuck
- Advanced upgrades in R
- The plans
The method: A structured, 9-phase method from research question to submission-ready manuscript, usually a systematic review or meta-analysis, in about 100 hours of guided work (roughly four to five hours a week). The aim is that you understand why every step exists, so you can run it again on your next paper and the one after.
Lessons you can see, not just read: Most courses hand you slides and PDFs to read. We go a step further: 16 to 17 hours of video across 110+ short visual lessons, where our motion graphics designers and educational psychologists build every idea on screen, step by step. Abstract things like bias, heterogeneity or what a forest plot is really telling you become pictures you can recall when you're actually doing the work.
A playbook for every section: Think of a sports team's playbook, the set of plays they've practised so everyone knows exactly what to do in each situation. Ours work the same way for research. Each playbook is a step-by-step working guide for one stage of your project: what to do, in what order, with the templates, scripts and checklists you need, and what "done" looks like. There are twenty of them, from a master template for extracting data to the R and RevMan protocols for the analysis and six writing protocols that take you through the manuscript in the order you should write it.
Real runs, failures included: You don't just see the clean version. Take finding a topic: you watch real topic searches across different fields, the attempts that fail, when to drop an idea completely, when to pivot the question instead, and what a topic worth chasing actually looks like. Every stage is taught that way, so you spot a dead end before it costs you months.
Your own paper, even in a cohort: In the Accelerator we don't merge students into group projects, so nobody gets carried on someone else's paper and nobody gets left behind on one. A systematic review needs two people screening and extracting data independently, so you pair up: with another student, each of you second reviewer on the other's paper, or with a friend you bring along.
Mentor help when you're stuck: A mentor answers your specific problem through a "Doubt Token": 3, 8 or 32 depending on the plan, with weekly live calls in the Accelerator cohort and weekly one-to-one calls in Mastery. You still write the paper yourself.
Advanced upgrades in R: When you're ready to go past a standard meta-analysis: Bayesian meta-analysis, structural equation modelling (SEM), hierarchical (multilevel) models and network meta-analysis, with R taught properly rather than as copy-paste code.
The plans: The fundamentals are free (Phase 0), so where others charge $49 or more for an introduction, you start at zero cost. You only pay for the meta-analysis program: Foundations (self-paced, 3 Doubt Tokens), Accelerator (adds the 8-week cohort, weekly calls and an external submission deadline) or Mastery (by application: co-writing with a senior mentor and a multi-publication strategy). Prices for your country are on the pricing page.
Although I initially joined to learn meta-analysis, the program provided far more than that... During the program, I completed a research project that was accepted for presentation at Digestive Disease Week (DDW) 2026.
- No certificate, and no CV padding Why: we care about skills, not paperwork. A certificate doesn't get a paper accepted or carry you through an interview; work you can explain and defend does. We don't hand out authorship or add your name to other people's papers.
- The work is mandatory: You do the searching, screening, analysis and writing yourself; nobody does it for you. Why: authorship you earn is the only kind that holds up, under the ICMJE criteria and in front of an interviewer. It's also the only way the skill stays with you.
- Costs more than video-only courses (see the pricing page). Why: it's built very differently, and since the fundamentals are free, you can judge the teaching before you pay anything.
- Focused on systematic reviews and meta-analyses, not original clinical studies. Why: a meta-analysis is the best place to learn how evidence really works. Once you understand evidence that deeply, other study designs come far more easily, which is the whole point: you shouldn't need another research course after this one.
- You'll need a second reviewer Why: in a proper systematic review, two people screen and extract independently, so mistakes get caught.
- Foundations is self-paced, with only 3 Doubt Tokens Why: the goal is independence, so you learn to get yourself unstuck. If you want weekly structure and more support, that's what the Accelerator is for, at a higher price.
- Publication isn't guaranteed Why: independent peer review decides what gets published. Anyone who guarantees publication is selling something other than research training.
How we score them
So here's how we scored everyone. Same 10 criteria, 0 to 2 points each, out of 20. Points only go for what a provider says publicly or what independent records show, so if a feature isn't on their website, it scores 0. Here are the 10 criteria and how each one is scored: The same rules apply to us. Where a provider sells several plans, we score its flagship: the plan it marks as recommended or most popular (named in brackets), or its main program if nothing is marked.
- Own paper: 2 points if you write your own manuscript and lead it as first author; 1 for a shared or group paper, or your own protocol or proposal without a manuscript; 0 if there's no project.
- Feedback on your work: 2 if a mentor or faculty member reviews your own work regularly, included in the price; 1 for limited feedback (a capped number of questions, group sessions, peer review or Q&A); 0 for none.
- Method, start to finish: 2 if it goes from question to manuscript, including running the analysis yourself in statistical software; 1 if it covers the steps without hands-on analysis, or is a broad introduction; 0 for basics only.
- Live teaching: 2 for at least weekly; 1 for some live sessions; 0 for recorded only.
- Price shown: 2 if all prices are published before you sign up; 1 if some are; 0 if none are.
- Cost: based on the lowest price a student can pay for the main program. 2 for free to $299; 1 for $300 to $1,500; 0 for over $1,500. Where the price isn't published, we use what enrolled students report.
- Access: 2 if any student, from any country, can enrol directly; 1 if an application, waitlist, call or message comes first; 0 if students can't join.
- Authorship safeguards: 2 if it states an authorship standard (or produces no papers) and sells no writing service or author places; 1 if it sells neither but states no authorship policy; 0 if it sells a writing service, or places on the author list of other people's papers.
- Try before you pay: 2 if part of the course is free, or there's a refund window of 7 days or more; 1 for a trial period, a shorter refund window, a low-cost intro or free teaching videos; 0 if none is stated.
- Track record (independent): from PubMed, Europe PMC and Retraction Watch. 2 if papers linked to the program are spread across journals (none holding half) and there's no publisher action; 1 if no linked papers are found yet, it doesn't apply, or 50 to 80% are in one journal; 0 if over 80% of linked papers are in one journal, or a publisher has acted against the program.
Programs that end with a project and courses that only teach the method do different jobs, so they get separate tables. Ties are broken by Own paper, then Feedback, then Live teaching. The scores reflect public information on 19 October 2026 (24 October for AARA), and every source is at the end of this guide. Think we got a score wrong? Tell us, show us the evidence, and we'll fix it.
Scorecard: programs that end with a project
Tau Square isn't ranked here; it's scored in its own section.
| # | Program | Own paper | Feedback | Method | Live | Price shown | Cost | Access | Authorship | Try first | Track record | Total /20 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | PIMG Research Academy (Full Program) | 1 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 14 |
| 2 | Meta-Analysis Academy | 1 | 1 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 12 |
| 2 | Harvard PPCR | 1 | 1 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 12 |
| 4 | AARA (Systematic Review & Meta-Analysis course) | 1 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 12 |
| 5 | USMLE Wise (Research Catalyst) | 2 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 11 |
| 6 | CIBNP (2-month program) | 2 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 11 |
| 7 | The Good Research Project (Original Research) | 1 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 10 |
| 8 | Harvard GCSRT | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 9 |
Scorecard: courses that teach the method
| # | Program | Own paper | Feedback | Method | Live | Price shown | Cost | Access | Authorship | Try first | Track record | Total /20 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The Match Guy: Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis course | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 14 |
| 2 | The Match Guy: Research Course | 0 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 14 |
| 3 | Johns Hopkins on Coursera | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 13 |
| 4 | NIH IPPCR | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 12 |
| 4 | Cochrane Interactive Learning | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 12 |
| 6 | Med School Insiders | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 11 |
Independent evidence: where the papers are
Now, this is what the databases show, not what the providers say. Every number links to the search, so you can check it yourself.
| Program | Papers found | Largest share in one journal | Authors per paper (median) | Publisher action reported | Trustpilot |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tau Square Academy (ours) | 0 naming us yet (Europe PMC full text); one accepted in JACC: Heart Failure, not yet indexed | n/a | n/a | None found | No profile |
| PIMG Research Academy | 61 co-authored by co-founder Dr. Calderon Martinez since 2023 (PubMed; includes work outside the Academy); 0 naming the Academy | 25% (Cureus): 9 of 12 in 2023, none in 2025 to 2026 | 10 (82% have 8 or more) | None found | No profile |
| Meta-Analysis Academy | 18 naming the Academy (Europe PMC full text) | 11% (17 journals; none in Cureus) | 7.5 | None found | 4.8 from 44 reviews |
| AARA | 4 with an AARA affiliation, 2024 to 2026 (PubMed; the same 4 in Europe PMC) | 75% (Cureus): 3 of 4 | 11 | None found | No profile |
| USMLE Wise | 0 naming it (Europe PMC full text) | n/a | n/a | None found | 1 review |
| CIBNP | 1,313 with a CIBNP affiliation (PubMed; 1,322 in Europe PMC) | 97% (Cureus) | 7 (43% have 8 or more) | Cureus closed its CIBNP channel, November 2024 | No profile |
| The Good Research Project | 36 thanking it in the acknowledgements, 2022 to 2026 (Europe PMC) | 81% (Cureus) | 6 | None found | 3.7 from 59 reviews |
One thing to keep in mind: "Papers found" only counts papers that name the program in an affiliation or acknowledgement, and not every student does that, so treat it as the minimum. Courses that don't produce papers aren't listed.
How it started: Cureus began in 2009 as PeerEMed and took its current name in December 2012. It was founded by John Adler, the Stanford neurosurgeon, with Alexander Muacevic of LMU Munich, and it set out to fix what frustrated doctors about journals. It was open access, so anyone could read it. Peer review took days instead of months. Publication was free for articles that followed its rules. Readers could rate papers after publication through its Scholarly Impact Quotient (SIQ). Its papers were indexed in PubMed Central, and it was later listed in Web of Science with an impact factor. WIRED called it "a new way for doctors to share their medical mysteries", and in December 2022 it joined Springer Nature. For a student's first paper, it looked ideal.
How trust was lost: The features that made it attractive also made it easy to exploit.
- Speed let weak papers through: Cureus retracted 15 papers over purchased authorship in 2022 and more than 50 for faked authorship in January 2024.
- "Free" came with a catch: Under its own author guide, articles over its author or reference limits, or with too many formatting and language errors, must buy its paid Preferred Editing service. So the more authors a paper has, and the more rushed it is, the more likely it is to end up paying.
- Outside organisations ran their own channels: Groups could run "academic channels" with editors they picked themselves. After an investigation by Science and Retraction Watch, Cureus closed six of them in November 2024, including CIBNP's.
- It lost its Web of Science listing: In October 2025, Clarivate removed Cureus from Web of Science, so it no longer has an impact factor.
What that means for you: A Cureus paper isn't automatically bad: plenty of honest work is published there, and its papers are still in PubMed Central. But when most of a program's papers go to one fast-track journal that has lost its Web of Science listing, it's fair to ask why. A paper you led, in a journal with a real reputation, will count for more at interview.
Mentored programs: you work on a paper
These all end with a paper you work on, with someone checking the work. They're in score order.
1. PIMG Research Academy
Best for IMGs who want a cohort with mentors who put in real work, especially PIMG members.
- Score: 14/20, for its recommended Full Program (scorecard)
- Price: $1,499 for the Basic course, or $299 for members; the Full Program is $2,998, or $919 for members
- Format: cohorts of up to 30, recorded lessons plus live weekend sessions, weekly one-to-one mentor contact
- Your paper: co-authored in the cohort
Who runs it: PIMG Research Academy is part of the Project IMG (PIMG) community and has run since 2023. Its two co-founders, Dr. Ernesto Calderon Martinez (Internal Medicine track) and Dr. Sebastian Arruarana (Surgical track), are physicians who still publish, and they mentor every cohort themselves and co-author the papers. Students present at meetings like ACC, AHA, DDW and ENDO.
How it works: The Basic Research Course runs 8 to 12 weeks, with 35+ hours of recorded sessions plus the live weekend sessions, from your research question and protocol registration through risk of bias, meta-analysis, GRADE and writing, to submission. Meta-Analysis in R is a separate 16-week course (no coding experience needed): 7 modules of reproducible R scripts, with chat-based questions and 3 live sessions, at $1,999, or $620 for members. The Full Program is both, with one mentor team. Membership is a free sign-up on projectimg.com. Cohorts are capped at 30 per specialty track, you get a PIMG and a Mendeley Elsevier certificate, and it reports 200+ peer-reviewed publications since 2023 and over 85% of participants reaching publication.
By the numbers (independent): PubMed lists 61 papers co-authored by co-founder Dr. Calderon Martinez since 2023 (that includes work outside the Academy). They have a median of 10 authors, and 82% have 8 or more. To their credit, they've moved to stronger journals: 9 of the 12 from 2023 were in Cureus, and none from 2025 or 2026 were. A full-text search of Europe PMC finds no papers naming PIMG Research Academy itself.
- Two prices for one course: $1,499 is shown as the standard price, but membership is a free sign-up, so most people can pay $299.
- Not everyone finishes as first author: With cohorts of up to 30 and only one first author per paper, author lists get long. Agree author order and roles at the start.
- No authorship policy on the site, and nothing free to try first: Entry is by application.
- Two tracks only, Internal Medicine and Surgical, so check how your specialty fits before you apply.
- The R course is mostly self-directed, so you have to keep yourself on schedule.
- The 200+ and 85% figures are self-reported.
2. Meta-Analysis Academy
Best for students and doctors who specifically want a meta-analysis cohort.
- Score: 12/20 (scorecard)
- Price: not published; enrolled students report about $1,200 to $2,000
- Format: a 10-step cohort with recorded lessons, hands-on exercises and weekly live sessions, plus a year of access
- Your paper: usually co-authored with other students
Who runs it: Meta-Analysis Academy is run by MAA Education Ltda (Brazil) and led by Dr. Rhanderson Cardoso, MD, FACC, a cardiologist the site describes as at Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School. The Academy says it's independent of Harvard, Johns Hopkins and Brigham.
How it works: An intro module, then a 10-step method from developing an idea to submission and editorial review. Each step has a recorded lesson, a hands-on exercise and a live session (on Sundays, for the English-speaking cohort). Analyses are taught in R, Stata and RevMan, and the Academy says a meta-analysis can take about 5 to 7 weeks from idea to submission. Its site doesn't say each student leads their own paper, and publication isn't guaranteed.
By the numbers (independent): A full-text search of Europe PMC finds 18 papers that name the Meta-Analysis Academy, spread across 17 journals, none in Cureus, with a median of 7.5 authors. It rates 4.8 from 44 reviews on Trustpilot.
- Price isn't public: You join a waitlist and apply, and some students report paying different amounts, so ask for the price in writing before you commit.
- A personal mentor costs extra: Students report that the main course gives you group tutoring and a peer group rather than your own mentor, and that one-to-one mentorship from senior researchers is a separate, higher-priced program. Ask what's included before you pay.
- More work than it sounds: Students report the weekly workload is well above the few hours a week it can sound like, so plan your time honestly.
- Co-authorship, not your own paper: With a median of 7.5 authors on papers naming the Academy, most students finish as a co-author. Ask how author order is decided before you join.
- Cohorts move at the pace of the fastest: The quickest students tend to drive the work, so if you need more time, ask how they support people who fall behind.
- Meta-analysis only, and no authorship policy on its site beyond saying authors are responsible for their own work.
3. AARA (American Academy of Research & Academics)
Best for students who want low-cost research courses, or a membership with US-pathway perks.
- Score: 12/20, for its Systematic Review & Meta-Analysis course (scorecard)
- Price: the Systematic Review & Meta-Analysis course is $1,120 to $1,650 (the page doesn't say which package costs what); short courses are $20 to $59; membership is $29, $49 or $79 a month
- Format: self-paced lessons with instructor guidance and quizzes; the site mentions live webinars but not how often
- Your paper: the course aims for a "publication-ready review"; who leads it isn't stated
Who runs it: AARA, the American Academy of Research & Academics, Inc., a company registered in Delaware in the US. Its courses run on the AARA LMS portal. Its pages list roles, such as Research Program Director and Chief Research Officer, but no names or credentials.
How it works: The Systematic Review & Meta-Analysis course runs from writing a protocol and registering it on PROSPERO, through data extraction, critical appraisal and data synthesis with hands-on software exercises, to writing the manuscript. A separate "Become a Researcher" program offers one-to-one mentorship from design to publication, with no price listed. Memberships add perks by tier; the $79 Platinum tier lists one one-to-one mentorship session, participation in national database studies, abstract presentations at conferences and a post-doc fellowship nomination.
By the numbers (independent): PubMed lists 4 papers with an author affiliated with AARA, from 2024 to 2026. Three are in Cureus, and they have a median of 11 authors. There's no Trustpilot profile, and we found no publisher action.
- Nobody is named: The site lists roles but no instructors or leaders, so ask who would actually mentor you, and check their publications, before you pay.
- No refunds: Its terms say "We do not offer refunds", and disputes go to arbitration in Illinois under Delaware law. Try a low-cost course first.
- Unclear pricing: The meta-analysis course shows one range across four packages, and the mentorship program has no price at all. Get the price in writing.
- No authorship policy: Nothing on the site says who leads a paper or how author order is decided, and papers linked to it have a median of 11 authors. If a membership includes "participation in national database studies" or "abstract presentations", ask what work you'll do and how authorship is decided under the ICMJE criteria.
4. USMLE Wise Research Catalyst
Best for IMGs aiming for several outputs before ERAS.
- Score: 11/20 (scorecard)
- Price: $4,500, with $1,500 to start and the rest after a six-week trial (one of its pages lists it at $3,500)
- Format: a 12-month mentored program with regular check-ins and milestone reviews
- Your paper: lead author on one of four target papers
How it works: The Research Catalyst aims for four papers over 12 months, across systematic reviews, case reports, cohort studies and other designs, matched to your specialty. It says it follows ICMJE authorship and doesn't offer name-listing or ghostwriting, and publication isn't guaranteed. No indexed papers name it yet, and it has 1 review on Trustpilot.
- Among the most expensive options here.
- Four papers in 12 months is a heavy load alongside exams and clinical work.
- Check which product you're buying: The same company also sells separate "Get Published" packages ($300 to $1,000) for co-author or lead-author places on papers.
- You book a call before you can join.
5. CIBNP (California Institute of Behavioral Neurosciences and Psychology)
Best for IMGs who want a structured, US-based research writing program.
- Score: 11/20 (scorecard)
- Price: $859 (2 months), $1,129 (4 months) or $1,399 (6 months); a 2-month one-on-one option at $1,799 and a 12-week meta-analysis program at $1,259
- Format: online live and recorded classes with mentors, plus phone and WhatsApp support
- Your paper: first author on one manuscript you write, plus collaboration on several more
Who runs it: CIBNP is a US research-training company founded in 2016. The 2-month program also lists a certificate and a letter of recommendation.
By the numbers (independent): PubMed lists 1,313 papers with a CIBNP affiliation. 97% are in one journal, Cureus, and they have a median of 7 authors (43% have 8 or more). In November 2024, Retraction Watch reported that Cureus had closed CIBNP's publishing channel along with five others, following a joint investigation by Science and Retraction Watch in May 2024.
- Several collaborators per paper: Check what your role and author position would be on the other manuscripts.
- A card fee is added on payments over $100.
6. The Good Research Project (TGRP)
Best for complete beginners who want a short, group-based first project.
- Score: 10/20 (scorecard)
- Price: main program fees are given on WhatsApp; case reports are listed from $15.75 to $145; journal fees are extra
- Format: group projects inside its own app, with one or two classes per project
- Your paper: shared with 4 to 6 students (letters to the editor are solo)
Who runs it: The Good Research Project is an India-based platform (Nagpur) founded in 2022 by dermatologist Dr. Shreya Deoghare, with students joining from many countries for the USMLE, UK and Australian routes.
How it works: Original Research (web-based) puts a team of 4 to 6 students on a study of publicly available online data, with no patients involved, in about 2 to 4 weeks, then a publication phase of 2 to 12 months. A Narrative Review takes a team about 2 to 3 weeks at 4 to 6 hours a week. A Letter to the Editor is about an hour of teaching and 5 hours of writing. Case reports come as a guidance video ($15.75), mentorship ($120) or a professional writing service ($145). Journal fees are split between the authors, and it says it has guided 150+ publications.
By the numbers (independent): A Europe PMC search finds 36 papers since 2022 that thank The Good Research Project in their acknowledgements. 81% are in Cureus, with a median of 6 authors. It rates 3.7 from 59 reviews on Trustpilot.
- Group papers: Author order is decided by contribution, not guaranteed up front, so most people finish as a middle author.
- Studies built on online data: They're quick and involve no patients, but they teach less than a clinical study or a full systematic review, so check how programs in your target specialty see them.
- Short teaching: After a class or two it's guidance in the group chat, so you learn the steps for that project rather than research in depth.
- No refunds and no switching: All sales are final, and you can't move to another project once it starts.
- If you use the writing service, disclose it: When someone else drafts your paper, ICMJE expects that help to be acknowledged, and you still have to meet the authorship criteria yourself.
Best free and low-cost courses
7. Johns Hopkins: Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis (Coursera)
Best for learning systematic review theory on your own.
- Score: 13/20 among courses that teach the method (scorecard)
- Price: free to audit; the certificate comes through a paid Coursera plan, and financial aid is available
- Format: self-paced, about two weeks at ten hours a week, with a peer-reviewed final assignment
- Your paper: no
Who teaches it: Tianjing Li and Kay Dickersin, on Coursera. Over 220,000 people have enrolled, and it's rated 4.8.
- Nobody reviews your actual project: The jump from "I understand it" to "I've registered and finished a review" is exactly where most self-learners stall.
- An overview, not a full run: Two weeks of content can't take you through a complete review from question to submission.
8. NIH Introduction to the Principles and Practice of Clinical Research (IPPCR)
Best for a free, broad grounding in clinical research from anywhere.
- Score: 12/20 among courses that teach the method (scorecard)
- Price: free
- Format: about 40 recorded lectures, with a certificate for scoring 80% or more on the final exam
- Your paper: no
Who runs it: The US National Institutes of Health. Registration for the current run of the IPPCR is open until June 2027.
- Long and passive: With no mentor and no deadlines, it's easy to drift.
- US-centred: A lot of the regulatory and trial content reflects the US system, which matters less if you'll train elsewhere.
- Not focused on systematic reviews.
9. Cochrane Interactive Learning
Best for the Cochrane method in depth.
- Score: 12/20 among courses that teach the method (scorecard)
- Price: £199 a year, with Module 1 free and free access in some lower-income countries
- Format: over 15 hours of self-directed modules
- Your paper: no
Who runs it: Cochrane itself, the organisation behind the review method; see Cochrane Interactive Learning.
- Built for Cochrane authors: Thorough, but heavy going if you're a beginner.
- Many countries don't qualify for free access, and the fee is in pounds.
- Self-directed, with no mentor.
Low-cost self-paced courses
10. The Match Guy: Research Course and Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis course
Best for IMGs who want a US-focused introduction, and live meta-analysis teaching.
- Score: 14/20 for each course, the highest among courses that teach the method (scorecard)
- Price: Research Course $49 (1 month), $99 (3 months) or $199 (lifetime); Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis course $499 (Starter), $699 (PRO) or $999 (Premium)
- Format: a self-paced introduction (14 lessons, about 14 hours of video, 100+ quizzes) and a 7-week live workshop taught every week, with about 10 hours of video
- Your paper: no; neither course reviews your own project or sponsors publication
Who runs it: The Match Guy LLC (US), with Dr. Malke Asaad as lead instructor. The Research Course goes from idea to publication, with a certificate on the longer plans. The Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis course has sign-up open, and both offer free preview lessons and a short refund window.
- The introduction covers basics you can learn free (NIH IPPCR, or our free Phase 0).
- You still need a project and someone to check it.
- Out-of-date start dates on the live workshop page when we checked, so confirm when the next one runs before you pay.
- Framed around the US Match, so less useful if you're aiming for training outside the US.
11. Med School Insiders: The Ultimate Premed and Medical Student Research Course
Best for US premeds and medical students who want a guided introduction.
- Score: 11/20 among courses that teach the method (scorecard)
- Price: $349 (reduced from $599), with a 10-day money-back guarantee
- Format: a self-paced online course
- Your paper: no
Who runs it: Med School Insiders, founded by Dr. Kevin Jubbal; see the research course page.
- Built for the US premed and med school path, with little for IMGs.
- No certificate, mentor or project, so you'll still need a way to do and check real research.
- Course length isn't stated on the sales page.
Premium university certificates
12. Harvard T.H. Chan: Principles and Practice of Clinical Research (PPCR)
Best for young doctors who want a Harvard credential and can commit nine months.
- Score: 12/20 among programs that end with a project (scorecard)
- Price: $3,600 to $5,000, depending on the track
- Format: nine months of weekly three-hour live sessions, plus a five-day immersion
- Your paper: group analysis of a real dataset with faculty
Who runs it: The Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health; see PPCR. The next cohort starts in March 2027.
- A big step for a beginner: It's pitched at clinicians and researchers, so a medical student starting from zero may find it heavy.
- A nine-month commitment, and travel to the immersion week isn't included.
- Entry is by application.
13. Harvard Medical School: Global Clinical Scholars Research Training (GCSRT)
Best for faculty-level clinicians building a research career.
- Score: 9/20 among programs that end with a project (scorecard)
- Price: $17,500 to $18,500
- Format: 11 months at 7 to 10 hours a week, with three required workshops
- Your paper: a research proposal and certificate, not a publication
Who runs it: Harvard Medical School; see GCSRT.
- Students aren't eligible: It's for faculty-level clinicians and scientists.
- A long commitment alongside clinical work.
Which one should you choose?
- Any year, no mentor, want to learn to publish yourself: start with our free Phase 0, then a program where you work on a real paper: Tau Square if you want to lead your own paper as first author, or PIMG or Meta-Analysis Academy if you're happy to co-author in a cohort.
- IMG building a US residency CV: prioritise first- or second-author work you can defend at interview over a long list of middle authorships. A mentored program where you write your own paper is the most direct route.
- Just need to understand research for exams or a requirement: NIH IPPCR or the Johns Hopkins course.
- On a tight budget: start with the free introductions (Tau Square's Phase 0, or NIH IPPCR), then put your money into whatever gets your actual paper done: a mentored program or a willing faculty supervisor.
- Want meta-analysis specifically: The Match Guy's SR/MA course (live teaching, no project review), or a program where you complete one: Tau Square (your own paper), Meta-Analysis Academy (co-authored), or CIBNP's meta-analysis program. Choosing software? See is RevMan free in 2026, and should you learn RevMan or R.
- Faculty or senior resident building a research career: Harvard PPCR or GCSRT.
Red flags when choosing a paid program
- "Authorship only" options, with no training or writing involved.
- Someone else writes the paper for you: If a service drafts the manuscript, that help has to be acknowledged, and you still need to have done enough of the work to be an author.
- Guaranteed authorship or guaranteed publication: No honest program can promise what independent peer review decides.
- Very long author lists, such as 15 authors listed alphabetically, where nobody's role is clear.
- A fee per author position, or extra charges for a "better" journal.
- Vague journal names: Ask which journals past papers went to, then check them in the NLM Catalog and against Think.Check.Submit.
These matter because purchased authorship and weak journals come back to bite you, at interview and sometimes years later; what happened with Cureus above is a good example. For the full process, see our guide on how to publish a research paper as a medical student.
Quick comparison
| Option | Score | Format | Cost (as listed) | Ends with your own paper? | Main cons | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tau Square Academy (ours) | 18/20 (own category) | 16 to 17 h of video (110+ visual lessons, not static PDFs), a playbook for every section; self-paced or 8-week cohort; mentor support; advanced upgrades (Bayesian, network, SEM, hierarchical) in R | Fundamentals free; meta-analysis program as per the pricing page | Yes, your own paper, with you as first author (usually a systematic review or meta-analysis) | Costs more than video courses; no certificate; the work is all yours | Students who want to become independent quickly, then build their own network |
| PIMG Research Academy | 14/20 | Cohorts of up to 30 by track (IM, Surgical); 35+ h recorded plus live weekend sessions; founders co-author; optional 16-week R course | $1,499 ($299 for PIMG members); Full Program $2,998 ($919 members) | Aims to; self-reports 85%+ reaching publication | Cohort work, so not everyone finishes first author; best value only for members | IMGs in the PIMG community |
| Meta-Analysis Academy | 12/20 | Cohort: 10-step method, recorded lessons, exercises, weekly live sessions; 1 year of access | Not listed publicly (reportedly about $1,200 to $2,000) | Co-authored SR/MA; first authorship not stated | Co-authorship, not your own paper; price not public; personal mentor costs extra | Students wanting a meta-analysis cohort |
| AARA (American Academy of Research & Academics) | 12/20 | Self-paced lessons with instructor guidance; short courses; monthly memberships | SR/MA course $1,120 to $1,650; courses $20 to $59; membership $29 to $79 a month | Aims for a publication-ready review; lead author not stated | No refunds; nobody named; no authorship policy | Students wanting low-cost courses or US-pathway perks |
| USMLE Wise Research Catalyst | 11/20 | 12-month mentored program | $4,500 | Targets four papers, lead author on one | Expensive; same company sells "Get Published" authorship packages | IMGs wanting several outputs before ERAS |
| CIBNP | 11/20 | Live and recorded classes with mentors; 2 to 6 month plans | $859 to $1,399 ($1,799 one-on-one) | Yes, first author on one manuscript; no guarantee | Several collaborators per paper; card fee added | IMGs wanting a US-style structured program |
| The Good Research Project | 10/20 | Group projects in an app (teams of 4 to 6), one or two classes per project; solo letters to the editor | Main programs on WhatsApp; case reports $15.75 to $145; journal fees extra | A shared group paper; author order by contribution | Group papers; studies on online data; no refunds | Complete beginners wanting a short first project |
| Johns Hopkins: Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis (Coursera) | 13/20 | Self-paced, about 2 weeks | Included with Coursera Plus; financial aid available | No | Nobody reviews your actual project | Learning SR theory on your own |
| NIH IPPCR | 12/20 | About 40 recorded lectures | Free | No | Long and passive; US-centred | Clinical research foundations, any country |
| Cochrane Interactive Learning | 12/20 | Self-directed, 15+ hours | £199 a year (Module 1 free) | No | Heavy for beginners; annual fee in pounds | The Cochrane method, in depth |
| The Match Guy: Research Course | 14/20 | Self-paced introduction, 14 lessons | $49 to $199 | No (no publication sponsored) | Covers basics you can learn free | IMGs wanting a paid introduction |
| The Match Guy: Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis course | 14/20 | 7-week live workshop plus about 10 h of video | $499 / $699 / $999 | No guarantee; certificate included | Doesn't review your own project | IMGs wanting live meta-analysis teaching |
| Med School Insiders | 11/20 | Self-paced online course | $349 | No | US premed focus; no mentor or project | US premeds and medical students |
| Harvard PPCR | 12/20 | 9 months, weekly live sessions, 5-day immersion | $3,600 to $5,000 | Group data analysis; not guaranteed | Heavy for beginners; 9-month commitment | Young doctors wanting a Harvard credential |
| Harvard GCSRT | 9/20 | 11 months, 7 to 10 h a week, workshops | $17,500 to $18,500 | No (research proposal) | Students aren't eligible; very expensive | Faculty-level clinicians, not students |
Sources
Everything we scored, so you can check it. Provider pages and independent records were checked between 17 and 24 October 2026; database counts change as new papers are indexed.
Providers' own pages
- Tau Square Academy: pricing and plans · how it works (RevMan and R) · free Phase 0 · terms (authorship standards) · refund policy
- PIMG Research Academy: programs, prices, cohorts and mentors · Project IMG membership sign-up
- Meta-Analysis Academy: curriculum, weekly live sessions and software · waitlist and founder
- USMLE Wise: Research Catalyst (price, check-ins, ICMJE statement) · all research programs, including "Get Published"
- CIBNP: School of Research (plans and prices)
- The Good Research Project: Original Research · Narrative Review · Letter to the Editor · case reports and writing service · refund policy
- AARA: Systematic Review & Meta-Analysis course (price range) · Become a Researcher · membership levels · AARA LMS courses · about (roles, no names) · terms (no refunds, Delaware)
- Johns Hopkins: Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis (Coursera)
- NIH: IPPCR
- Cochrane: Interactive Learning pricing · modules
- The Match Guy: Research Course · Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis course
- Med School Insiders: research course
- Harvard: PPCR · GCSRT
Independent records
- PubMed: papers with a CIBNP affiliation · papers co-authored by Dr. Ernesto Calderon Martinez, 2023 to 2026 · papers with an AARA affiliation
- Europe PMC full text: CIBNP · Meta-Analysis Academy · The Good Research Project (acknowledgements, 2022 to 2026) · PIMG Research Academy · USMLE Wise · AARA · Tau Square Academy
- Trustpilot: Meta-Analysis Academy · The Good Research Project · USMLE Wise
- Retraction Watch: Cureus closes six academic channels, including CIBNP's (21 November 2024) · Cureus removed from Web of Science (27 October 2025) · Cureus retracts 15 papers over purchased authorship (2022)
- Cureus history: WIRED (2017) · Cureus joins Springer Nature (2022) · Cureus author guide: free publication and Preferred Editing · Retraction Watch: more than 50 retractions for faked authorship (2024) · Wikipedia overview with further references
- Standards: ICMJE authorship criteria · NLM Catalog · Think.Check.Submit
Retraction Watch was searched for every provider in this guide, including us; CIBNP was the only one found.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best research mentorship program for medical students?
Scored by the same 10 published rules, Tau Square Academy (ours) gets 18/20, the highest of any program in this guide, and it's built for students who want to lead their own first-author paper and become independent quickly. We list it separately only because we run it. Of the programs we don't run, PIMG Research Academy scores highest (14/20), then Meta-Analysis Academy and Harvard PPCR (12 each), but at PIMG and Meta-Analysis Academy most students co-author in a cohort rather than lead a paper.
What is the best free research course for medical students?
For a free grounding from any country: NIH's IPPCR (free, 12/20 on our scorecard), Johns Hopkins on Coursera (free to audit, with financial aid; 13/20), or Tau Square's free Phase 0.
Can medical students join Harvard's GCSRT program?
Not as students. Harvard's Global Clinical Scholars Research Training is aimed at faculty-level clinicians and scientists, costs $17,500 to $18,500, and ends with a research proposal and certificate rather than a publication.
Are paid research programs for IMGs worth it?
Some are, if they teach you to do the work and you earn authorship under the ICMJE criteria. Be careful with programs that sell a place on an author list, write the paper for you, guarantee publication, or list a dozen or more authors per paper; these can hurt more than help.
Which research course is best for USMLE and residency applications?
What helps most is real, first- or second-author scholarly work you can discuss confidently at interview. Choose a program that takes you through a complete project (often a systematic review or meta-analysis) rather than one that only gives a certificate.
How much does a research mentorship program cost?
Among the programs we checked, introductory courses cost from $49 (The Match Guy) to $349 (Med School Insiders), dedicated meta-analysis courses from $499 to $999 (The Match Guy) and $1,259 (CIBNP), and mentored programs ranged from $299 (PIMG, members' price) to $4,500 (USMLE Wise). Group publication projects, where 4 to 6 students share one paper, can cost less per person, but you share the authorship too. Tau Square's prices are on its pricing page. Free options exist but usually depend on having a supervisor at your own medical school.
How did you score the research programs?
Every option is scored on 10 criteria, 0 to 2 points each: own paper, feedback on your work, method from start to finish, live teaching, price shown, cost, access, authorship safeguards, try before you pay, and an independent track record from PubMed, Europe PMC and Retraction Watch. Points go only for what the provider states publicly or what independent records show. Where a provider sells several plans we score its flagship plan. Tau Square is scored as a whole by the same rules but not ranked against the others, because we run it. Every source is linked at the end of the guide.
Ready to start? Phase 0 is free: 14 short lessons, no card needed. If you’d rather talk first, a doctor from our team will map your next three steps on a free 15-minute call.
Start Phase 0 free or book a free callTau Square Academy Research Team
A team of doctors, research mentors and educational psychologists
Written and fact-checked by the Tau Square Academy research team: the team of doctors, research mentors and educational psychologists who designed the 100-Hour Research Protocol and teach every cohort. Every fact links to its source, and we update guides when things change.